How I Became Hooked on Health

After taking a year off upon graduating from USC with hopes of going to Dental School, I had an ‘aha’ moment about health and wellness which has transformed my life in so many ways allowing me to lose weight and strive towards a new goal of becoming a Registered Dietitian.

A “Mouth-Full” of a Start

For as long as I can remember I have always wanted to be a dentist.  The need to help others has been instilled in me forever.  I pictured myself becoming a dentist where I could then travel to third world countries helping those that probably had never heard the term dental hygiene. So I majored in Exercise Science Scientific Foundations at the University  of South Carolina which tracked me in the right classes to apply to dental school.  While studying towards a career with a mouth-full of teeth, I was getting a mouth-full of the wrong foods and drinks.

After studying for the Dental Admissions Test  for what felt like a century and shadowing dentists, I was having second thoughts about my career path.  Becoming a dentist was something I had convinced myself since middle school that I wanted to do…but why?  Yes I saw it as a great way to help others…and the salary and schedule were definitely appealing.  But is a great salary and schedule  enough to want to do this for the rest of my life?  I just didn’t have that sense of desire and passion towards dentistry. For so long, I had convinced myself  that becoming a dentist was what i wanted to do, that I was ignoring my inner doubts. I felt ashamed of telling my friends and family that after all this time, dentistry was not my calling. It was about that time that I had the ‘aha’ moment.

Thanks to stumbling upon the Food Matters documentary on Netflix, I was enlightened!!  A light bulb finally went off in my brain and I saw everything in a new light.  After graduating, I had already been back to my healthy eating ways…but this documentary made me view healthy food in a whole new way! I became enthralled in nutrition…it consumed me. I found myself researching about it every free second I got. Organics, eating raw, juicing, smoothies, the benefits of each individual fruit and vegetable…There was SO MUCH to discover!  From here on, I was making green smoothies and eating a plethera of delicious fruits and vegetables, losing weight, and feeling the best I’ve ever felt!! The saying “You are what you eat” had now become my motto and led me towards going back to school in January to become a Registered Dietitian! By helping people lose weight, prevent disease, feel happy and healthy I could go far beyond my dreams of impacting others!

       *Disclaimer: I am not a doctor…this information is for educational purposes only. You should always consult a physician before undertaking any diet or exercise program*  Thank you and ENJOY!

Leave a comment

Filed under Health

Leave a Reply

