Carotene Cocktail ROUND 2

I think i just fell in love…with a juice! I must say that this recipe trumps the first Carotene Cocktail I made! The other tastes good, but this one just has a whole different vibe going for it! This juice tastes so good you almost question if it’s bad for ya! YUM! Check out the health benefits of sweet potatoes in my original Carotene Cocktail post below!

This recipe consists of:

  • 1 Lg. sweet potato or 2 small (peeled)
  • 1/3 a pineapple (make sure it’s good and ripe!)
  • 1  orange
  • Add more fruit if it tastes too chalky

18 Comments

Filed under Health, Healthy Recipes, Juicing, Weight loss

18 responses to “Carotene Cocktail ROUND 2

  1. I never would have thought of pressing a sweet potato through my juicer! Thanks for stopping by my blog. I’m glad to get to know yours as well.

  2. I can not wait to try sweet potatoes in my juicer! Thanks!

  3. Do you recommend any particular juicer?

    • Well I have an Omega and a Breville juicer! The omega is a masticating juicer while the Breville is a centrifugal one…there are pros and cons to both! I actually like the Omega better but it depends on which qualities are the most impt to you! For example the Breville has a larger spout so you don’t have to cut things up as much. It also oxidizes the juice more which causes you to lose a little bit of nutrients! I like the Omega because it is better at juicing leafy greens but it does take a little bit longer to make the juices because of the slower rpm (but not too much longer) They are both wonderful juicers and i would recommend either one!

  4. I’m glad to see I’m not the only one who juices sweet potato!! That looks delicious and I love the look of your blog….I think we have similar taste in design! Here’s to HEALTH!

  5. This sounds delish!!!!!!

  6. Well, you got me on sweet potato! What a great choice in superfoods, and the mix with pineapple & orange… can’t wait to try it! 🙂

  7. I have the perfect piece of pineapple for this and will try for lunch today! Thanks!

    p.s. for those shopping for juicers we have the Hurom Hu-100 Slow Juicer and it works great! Don’t let the “slow” deceive you – just refers to the internal crushing blade that gently juices and retains more nutriments than other machines. We like it so much we bought 2 more for family and friends!

  8. Thanks for all the great comments!

  9. midwestvaygun

    i never would have thought to juice a sweet potato! i’m so going to try this during my juice fast!

  10. Looks fabulous! I’ve been looking for a good sweet potato mix, but unfortunately I’m allergic to pineapple (/sadface). Nonetheless your post inspired me to keep searching!

  11. YUM! I will be drinking this for breakfast tomorrow! I tried orange, pineapple, and ginger this morning – sweet potato is EXACTLY what was missing.

  12. I too would have never though of juicing a sweet potato! It’s on. Thanks!

  13. I just got in from a walk and thought I’d look up those juice recipes from the other post but came across this one. Mom is on a flight back home, she takes the Breville with her and I have the Blentec here at home. I can’t wait to try this one! We were wondering about juicing sweet potatoes. Thanks!

  14. Pingback: Naranja « AfrosandLipgloss

  15. That actually looks quite yummy. Isn’t the sweet potato awfully starchy though?

    • Sweet potatoes actually have a LOW glycemic index and have been shown to increase blood levels of adiponectin! While I wouldn’t advise to drink this juice several times a day, sweet potatoes are packed with beta carotene and many other nutrients ( everything in moderation right!)

Leave a Reply

