Don’t Panic! EAT ORGANIC!

One of the first comebacks I almost ALWAYS get from people is “…but eating healthy is just TOO expensive!”

Well I’m here today to tell you that since I’ve transformed my eating habits, I’m actually SAVING money on groceries!

I realize that especially, depending on where you live, it is not realistic to say you HAVE TO buy 100% organic produce and foods all the time. But I thought I’d share with you some tips on buying organic and places where I have found some organic deals and steals!

For starters, you should know about the DIRTY DOZEN, which lists produce with the highest amounts of harsh pesticides and chemicals. You should always try to buy organic when it comes to these bad boys!

DIRTY DOZEN:

  1. Peaches
  2. Apples
  3. Sweet Bell Peppers
  4. Celery
  5. Nectarines
  6. Strawberries
  7. Cherries
  8. Pears
  9. Grapes
  10. Spinach
  11. Lettuce
  12. Potatoes

On the other hand, the CLEAN FIFTEEN do not require the same harsh pesticides and chemicals due to their “tough skin.” While you should strive to buy organic as much as possible, these products are on the safer side when the option is not available.

CLEAN FIFTEEN:

  1. Onions
  2. Avocado
  3. Sweet Corn
  4. Pineapples
  5. Mango
  6. Asparagus
  7. Sweet Peas
  8. Kiwi fruit
  9. Bananas
  10. Cabbage
  11. Broccoli
  12. Papaya
  13.  Watermelon
  14.  Grapefruit
  15. Sweet Potatoes

The ideal scenario would be to have your own gigantic, organic garden in your back yard…talk about my all time dream! But unfortunately, we can’t all be so lucky! (…Someday 🙂 )

So, first and foremost, BUY LOCALLY!  As I’ve come to realize, this can be a bit more difficult in the Winter months but look for co-ops, local farmers markets, etc.. when available! They almost always have the best prices!

Also, see what the deals for the week are on organic produce. If you’ve never tried the featured product before, go for it! It’s a great way to get creative and make you try something new this week!

Below is a list of some prices I’ve spent in the last week or two on organic produce from some well-known stores. Now you can compare your grocery bill to mine!

Whole Foods:

3 lb. bag of spinach: $5.99 (this thing lasts me almost a week…it’s HUGE)

3 lb. bag of local curly kale: $4.99

1 lg. bunch of Lacinato kale: $2.49

Granny smith apples $1.50/lb

Oranges: $1.50/lb

Green grapes: $2.99/lb

Heirloom tomatoes: $3.99/lb

Cucumbers: $1.20 ea.

Costco:

10 lb. bag whole organic carrots: $6.49

Spring mix salad mix 1 lb: $3.99

all-natural Avocados (5 pk): $5.99

Costco also sells a ton of other organic products, to name a few:

Edamame  1lb 8oz. $4.99

Frozen Blueberries 3lb. $11.59

Frozen Broccoli Florets 4-1lb bags $5.99

Frozen Corn 5lb. $5.59

Frozen Green Beans 5lb. $6.19

Quinoa: $2.35/lb

Texmati organic brown rice: $1.56/lb.

I even managed to find organic strawberries at Aldi this week for only $1.98 for a 1 lb. container! Talk about a steal! Even though they were not organic, I’ve also found pineapples for 99 cents at Aldi too!

In my opinion, the more fruits and vegetables you are buying and the LESS meats and packaged products, the LOWER your grocery bill will  be! I have found that shopping organic can actually be cheaper than buying conventional! Organic produce just tastes a thousand times better! Also think of they money you will be saving by GETTING HEALTHY and cutting those doctor/Rx bills!

How does your grocery bill compare?    Where have you found some of the best deals on organic foods?

6 Comments

Filed under Tips/Tricks

6 responses to “Don’t Panic! EAT ORGANIC!

  1. Hi Samamtha, you are just the person I have been looking for. I have just begun to put together my own natural weight loss websites, and somehow, I found you. Not only do I juice at least twice a week, I try to buy all-natural. Amish eggs and chicken to start. I doubt if I will ever do all veggies, but I do my share of them as well. I even wash all of my veggies, as if I am hand-washing the dishes, and I rinse them as well. My wife thinks I am crazy for doing this, but I’m trying to wash off all the pesticides. My goal too, is to have my own garden. Then I will know for sure what is or isn’t on my vegetables. Keep up the good work with your blogs, and I will pass them on.

    • Thanks for your kind words and I will def. check out your website as well! I know, I want to have my own garden so badly but I have to wait until I’m in a location that I know I’ll be in for a significant period of time 🙂 Good luck to you on your journey and keep spreading the word on getting healthy!

  2. Tamara Lukie

    Hi S!
    Love the post. I totally agree that eating local and eating tons of veggies is MUCH cheaper then the average way of eating/spending. It’s a win win to me (& my health)!!!
    T

  3. Thanks for the helpful info! My husband & I just started eating vegan at the beginning of this year. We have 4 kids, so I was intimidated about the price of organic foods (which we use whenever possible–so thanks again for your list!). Eating whole foods, and especially when choosing organic, people have to consider the long-term costs. If this lifestyle saves my kids from diabetes, heart disease, or even if it helps their allergies, we will be saving money on medication. I consider organic foods an investment.

  4. this is great! i was really surprised to see how many organic foods costco carries when i first went there. you wouldn’t think it, but they have a great selection. thanks for sharing!

    namaste. 🙂

  5. katstevens01

    Reblogged this on Katstevens01's Blog and commented:
    If this was in front of people at the store, they might reconsider choosing organic only.

Leave a Reply

