‘Go Green’ Grilled Cheese

Spinning off of my Basil Pesto recipe post I decided to put a spin on the average grilled cheese sandwich by making a Spinach-Avocado-Basil Pesto grilled cheese and I am now obsessed!

What you need:

  • 2 slices of whole grain bread (I go for the thin version–less calories and carbs)
  • Vegan cheese or mozzarella cheese
  • Fresh spinach
  • Half an avocado, sliced
  • Fresh Basil Pesto (see recipe on prior post)

Spread fresh basil pesto onto bread of your choice (hopefully it’s WHOLE grain) then add cheese, spinach, avocado and grill til nice and toasty 🙂 I was also thinking tomato would  be delicious on this one! This sandwich is bursting with fresh flavors! Enjoy!

9 Comments

Filed under Food, Health, Healthy Recipes

9 responses to “‘Go Green’ Grilled Cheese

  1. Kinenchen

    Gotta try this with Follow Your Heart vegan mozz. Thanks for this!

  2. Carol Merlo

    OMG-What a delicious recipe!

  3. Oh boy–this sounds wonderful! I’m a sucker for Daiya and avocado.

  4. Sam, you’re going to make me try this. I came across pesto a couple of months ago. I had no clue as to what it was, and still don’t really, but I was inclined to try it. I had it on my steak that I grilled, and all I can say is ‘wow!’. Sounds yummy. And you’re right. The tomato does make it sound even better.

    • Pesto makes everything better! It has such a vibrant fresh flavor, it’s hard to not like it! Let me know if you try it with tomato too! 🙂

  5. Pesto is a wonderfully tasty substitute for butter in a grilled cheese sandwich!

Leave a Reply

