The TRUE meaning of FOOD.

According to the dictionary, food is defined as “any nourishing substance that is eaten, drunk, or otherwise taken into the body to sustain life, provide energy, and promote growth.”

I believe we, as a culture, have forgotten the meaning of food and its importance.  Food has the power to prevent illness, evoke emotion, unite people together, and put a smile on our face. Most importantly, the right foods can allow us to live a long and happy life.  The food we eat should nourish our bodies and our lives.  As a dietitian, I want to help people rediscover the meaning of healthy food and themselves.

Today I want you to ask yourself “Is this FOOD I’m about to eat going to nourish my body?”   You might be surprised to find that the food you’re eating is not REAL food and is only providing you with empty calories. Always strive to NOURISH your body through your food, exercise, and your mind.

What does food mean to you and how do you stay nourished?

fakefood2

healthy

13 Comments

Filed under Health

13 responses to “The TRUE meaning of FOOD.

  1. krishnakanth

    awesome…simple, succinct n pertinent!!

  2. Excellent!!! Great minds think alike, don’t we? 🙂

  3. Good point and great post! I try to eat pretty healthfully, but I’ll make an effort to look at nutrition labels more carefully, or better yet hope there isn’t one one my food 🙂

  4. That’s so true. It’s not just about the flavor. It’s so easy to over indulge and eat too much because of the taste!

  5. afracooking

    I couldn’t agree more – you are what you eat! 🙂

  6. Since I became healthy I’ve discovered so many nourishing foods that are now favorites of mine. Before, I used to think I only enjoyed eating junk food.

  7. Totally agree! I just wrote about the green juices I’m getting my kids to drink, too! Love!

  8. So true. I think people underestimate what eating good can truly do for the body!

  9. becksavelle

    I love this post!!!! it’s easy to explain why eating fresh and clean is good for you…but to implement it is harder. I love the idea of asking yourself…is this food, does it nourish?

  10. I love your blog. Keep up the amazing content. 🙂

Leave a Reply

