Cauliflower Crust Pizza

Pizza has always been one of my weaknesses, thus I am constantly trying to find ways to make it more healthy!  I don’t know about you guys, but I always feel pretty yucky after eating all those carbs from the crust!  This pizza crust recipe is low-carb and gluten free! I was pleasantly surprised by the taste of this! Now if only I could substitute the cheese for something else….

photo

CAULIFLOWER-CRUST PIZZA RECIPE:

Prep time:  15 mins
Cook time:  35 mins
Total time:  50 mins
 
Ingredients
  • 1/2 head cauliflower (about 2 cups riced)
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 cup part-skim shredded mozzarella cheese
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 teaspoon basil
  • 1 teaspoon oregano
Instructions
  1. Pre-heat oven to 400° F.
  2. Prep a cookie sheet or pizza stone. You can grease the cookie sheet or use parchment paper. I would highly recommend using a pizza stone or parchment paper as it tends to stick to pans.
  3. Remove the stems and leaves from your cauliflower and chop the florets into chunks. Add to a food processor or blender and pulse just until the texture is similar to rice. If you don’t have a food processor, you can grate the cauliflower with a cheese grater or chop it.
  4. Sauté cauliflower “rice” in a non-stick skillet over medium heat and cook until translucent, approximately 6-8 minutes.
  5. In a bowl combine the cooked cauliflower with all remaining ingredients.
  6. Spread dough out evenly over parchment paper (or stone) – about 1/4 to 1/3 of an inch thick. The pizza should be about 9-10 inches in diameter.
  7. Bake for 25-30 minutes or until the crust is golden, crispy on the edges and cooked through the middle.
  8. Remove the crust from the oven.
  9. Top with pizza sauce and toppings. Be careful not to add too many heavy toppings as you don’t want to weigh down the crust.
  10. Broil the pizza for 5 minutes, or until the toppings are hot and the cheese is melted. Allow the pizza to cool for 2-3 minutes then cut and serve immediately.

dough

photo2

photo3

Hope  you enjoy!

18 Comments

Filed under Healthy Recipes

18 responses to “Cauliflower Crust Pizza

  1. It looks very good. I have to try it sometime too! Thanks Samantha =)

  2. I have been wanted to make cauliflower pizza crust for a long time! Awesome recipe!

  3. Wow! This is awesome I cant wait to try this recipe out! I was looking for good recipes to use the pulp from all the juicing I have been doing. Thanks!

  4. Wow! Talk about feeling guilty. I just finished eating 2 slices of pizza, 5 chicken wings, iced tea and for dessert a cup cake. My excuse, I am watching the Ravens play the 49rs. Your pizza looks delicious.

  5. I have just started learning about substituting with cauliflower. Can’t wait to try this recipe!

  6. Pingback: Cauliflower Crust Pizza | Barefoot And Running Blind!

  7. Great idea Samantha, I will definitely try this!

  8. Gonna have to try this one! Hope you don’t mind me featuring this great post on my blog…
    Thanks! Ross
    http://barefootandrunningblind.wordpress.com/2013/02/04/cauliflower-crust-pizza/

  9. mmm, this sounds interesting. Love cauliflower. You never fail to find something unique to write about! Someday I’ll try this, thanks.

  10. I have been dying to try this! I think I will put it on my menu for next week! Looks good! 🙂

  11. Reblogged this on SharpShooting and commented:
    This looks fantastically delicious!

  12. Can’t wait to try this recipe out!! Will have to test it out on my kids! Thanks for sharing!

  13. Reblogged this on Welcome to the crazy world of Nikki and commented:
    I cant wait to try this recipe! 🙂 Thanks Samantha for the awesome recipe!

  14. This looks great! Thanks for sharing! Looking forward to reading more of your posts!

Leave a Reply

