Crispy Eggplant Dippers

My friends and I had a girls night this weekend where we each made a healthy veggie-based appetizer!

These turned out to be a hit:

photo(15)

What You Need:

  • 1 large eggplant
  • 1 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1 cup flaxseed meal/ ground flaxseed
  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • 1/3 cup balsamic vinegar
Directions:
  • Preheat oven to 450 degrees.
  • Slice eggplant in half lengthwise and then into skinny strips.
  • Place the eggplant strips in a flat tray.
  • Pour the olive oil, balsamic, and garlic powder on top so that the eggplant is submerged.
  • Allow eggplant to marinate for 10-15 minutes.
  • Pour flax seed meal onto a plate.
  • Roll each eggplant strip in the flaxseed meal until it is completely covered and place each strip onto baking sheet.
  • The trick to making these taste great is adding some good spices on top. For these, I sprinkled some garlic salt, paprika, a little bit of cayenne pepper and red pepper flakes.
  • Bake at 450 for 15 minutes or until they are nice and crispy.
  • Dip these into your favorite sauce! These are delicious!

photo(14)

9 Comments

Filed under Healthy Recipes

9 responses to “Crispy Eggplant Dippers

  1. Meredith

    Making them again tonight! SOO delish!

  2. MMMM, great recipe – love eggplant! Hey are you up for another award? I nominated you for the Wonderful Team award because you are indeed a team player! check out my blog today for details, blessings,

  3. Oooh! I love eggplants! Thanks for sharing!

  4. Using flax seed is such a great idea. I definitely have to make these!

  5. Looks yummy! Will have to try. Thanks for posting. Always looking for new healthier food ideas.

  6. Thanks for a new way to eat eggplant. I’ll give it a try.

  7. I love the flax idea. That would work for eggplant parm as well! Thanks, I will make this once I have more eggplant 🙂

  8. I plan to try this tonight

Leave a Reply

