Black Bean Brownies

I’ve made Chickpea Blondies before, so of course I just had to try using black beans! I know it sounds weird, but you would never know that these have black beans in them. These are a more healthy spin on your typical brownies! They are vegan and gluten free.  Did I mention they are DELICIOUS?!

I give you the more nutritious Black Bean Brownie:

photo(7)

Nutritional Content Per Brownie(=1/9 of 8×8 pan):

  • Calories: 110
  • Fat: 5g
  • Carbs: 12g
  • Fiber: 3g
  • Protein: 3g (Will be more if you use Peanut Butter)

What you need:
■ 1 1/2 cups Organic Black Beans, drained and rinsed thoroughly
■ 2 tbsp Raw Cacao Powder
■ 1/2 cup Steel-cut or Quick Oats (or Gluten-free oats)
■ 1/4 tsp Salt
■ 1/3 cup Raw Agave
■ 2 packets of Stevia
■ 1/4 cup Organic Coconut Oil or All Natural Peanut Butter (depending on which flavor you prefer)
■ 2 tsp pure Vanilla Extract
■ 1/2 tsp Baking Powder
■ 1/2 cup Carob or Chocolate Chips (You can add more if you desire)

What to do:
Preheat oven to 350 F. Put all ingredients, except carob/chocolate chips, into your food processor or  blender. Blend mixture thoroughly until smooth. Add in the chocolate chips. Pour into a 8×8 greased pan. Throw some choc. chips on top.  Bake for 15-18 minutes. Cool,  Cut, and Serve.

photo(2)
photo(3)
photo(4)
photo(5)

8 Comments

Filed under Healthy Recipes

8 responses to “Black Bean Brownies

  1. Sweet! I’m definitely drying these!

  2. My goodness, what is the fiber count on these magnificant concoctions? I’ve got to try these Samantha! You’re a genius, thanks,

  3. Oh I just made a recipe of my own last night, but alas they were too wet and came out like a fudge. IT IS YUMMY though!
    I will try this recipe too with some gluten free oats and I am sure they will be yummy too.

  4. I’ve tried these before, so delicious! I have yet to try chickpea baked good those… definitely next on my list 🙂

    – Katherine
    http://www.ourmode.ca

  5. Oh Myyyyyy! I’m going to have to try these soon.

  6. Tegan

    I’m definitely trying this recipe 🙂 Tegan – mysweethole.wordpress.com

  7. Vibrant Bean

    I love baking with beans. Such a good way to get some protein in. People never notice!!

Leave a comment